March Update

This email was sent to COFES 2010 invitees on March 7, 2010

  April 15 thru April 18, 2010 Scottsdale, Arizona. 

  Registration Confirmation

COFES Registration Confirmation letters were emailed to you last week. If you have not received your confirmation letter then it is likely you are NOT yet registered for COFES.

If you haven't already registered, be sure to register right away. We are out of rooms at the resort and may be out of rooms at overflow hotels shortly.

Go register at:

If you do not have your invitation code, call us at 301-365-9085, or visit to apply for an invitation.


  Take Part in the COFES 2010 Survey

Once again we are conducting a short survey on the impact of the economy on the engineering software market. Please take five minutes to answer a dozen short questions to share your insights!

We look forward to sharing the results at COFES and will make the information available to all participants after the event.

All individual responses will be kept anonymous and confidential.

  Cyon Research Spring User Survey

In addition to the COFES Survey above, Cyon Research will be presenting data from its Spring Survey of Users of Software for Design and Engineering, currently in progress. This survey is intended for individuals from companies that use CAD or CAE in their business (not software vendors or VARs).

This detailed survey should take you about 20 minutes to complete. Users who complete the survey can receive a copy of the final report in exchange for their participation.

  Call for Roundtable Discussion Topics

We want to hear from you! What are the key issues you want discussed at COFES? We want to make sure that the issues that matter to you are being tackled and we need you to participate.

Send us a short description of the issues critical to you and we will consider them for inclusion as a COFES Roundtable Discussion topic. Forward your issues to

For ideas, please take a look at last year's topics. The final COFES discussion topics will be posted two weeks prior to COFES.

  DaS Symposium: Design and Sustainability

Come early to COFES and participate in the DaS Symposium!

COFES is a unique gathering of individuals from companies representing a wide variety of industry sectors, each with significant interest in software used to design the world around us.

The DaS Symposium exists within that community to focus on how design software can facilitate the visibility of sustainability issues at the design stage. The goal of the DaS Symposium is to raise the issues that are best addressed as areas of common ground and best served by collaborative, rather than competitive solutions.

 For 2010, The DaS Symposium will take place on Thursday, as a precursor to COFES. Please let us know if you plan to participate. Check out

  The CAD Society is Accepting Nominations

The CAD Society is accepting nominations for the 2010 CAD Society Industry Awards.

The CAD Society Awards acknowledge the contributions made by individuals that have affected and developed the CAD, engineering, manufacturing and architecture software industries. The awards are presented at each year at COFES.

The CAD Society presents awards in three categories:

Joe Greco Community Award: For outstanding work in improving communication and developing community within the CAD industry. Richard Doyle was the 2009 recipient of the Community award. Past award recipients include: Evan Yares, Sean Dotson, Chris Yessios, Lynn Allen, Randall Rath, CJ Shirk, Kristine Fallon, and Ralph Grabowski.

Leadership Award: For outstanding technical and business leadership in the CAD industry, and focus and dedication to the needs of CAD users. Bill McClure and Dan Staples shared the 2009 the Leadership award. Past award recipients include: Carl Bass, Jay Sunyogh, Dana K. “Deke” Smith, Robert McNeel, Tony Affuso, Tom Butta, Jon Hirschtick, and Bernard Charles.

Lifetime Award: For a lifetime of outstanding technical and business contributions to the CAD industry. Richard Sowar was the 2009 recipient of the Lifetime award. Past award recipients include: Mike Riddle, Dean Kamen, Russell F. Henke, Ken Versprille, L. Stephen Wolfe, Carl Machover, Dr. Joel Orr, and Patrick Hanratty.

Nominations must identify the award category and explain the nominee deserves to be honored. Email nominations can be sent to Video nominations are also acceptable, but must be posted to YouTube with the keywords ‘CAD Society’, along with an link sent by email link to .

All nominations need to be received by March 22, 2010, for consideration by the CAD Society.

  Copyright © 2010 Cyon Research Corporation. All Rights Reserved